Shamrock Spotlight: Colleen Dahlam

Image

We are so excited to be bringing you the “Shamrock Spotlight Series” on our blogs! The Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, 1/2 Marathon, 8k Races bring thousands of runners, of all ages, abilities and locations, to the Virginia Beach oceanfront every year!   As J&A Racing Live Love Run Ambassadors, we decided we wanted to celebrate these races, J&A Racing, and our community by doing a series that highlights participants, both local and out of town, on their journey to this years’ races.

We were incredibly fortunate to get the response we did when asking for volunteers to be spotlighted, and are grateful for the opportunity to share their stories with you!  

Kristy and Lesleyanne

SHAMROCK SPOTLIGHT: Colleen Dahlem


Image

32 years old

Shamrock Race: Marathon

Blog: LiveFreeandRun

Current City: Silver Spring MD

Why you are running a Shamrock race in 2014?  My husband ran it in 2011 and really enjoyed himself so I wanted in on the action! I’m looking forward to the fast and flat course with a great view dashing towards the finish!

When did you start running?  I ran cross country in high school but stopped in college. After having my daughter, I starting walking and then running with the stroller.

How many races have you done and what’s your favorite? I’ve done more races than I can count!  My favorite was Marine Corps Marathon!

Where do you prefer to run? In sight of water.

What’s the longest distance you’ve run? 26.2

Image

What is the one thing you DON’T like about running? Running in icy conditions

Favorite post-run indulgence? a cold IPA

Favorite running shoe? Nike Lunarglide

Favorite song to run to? Lucky Strike Maroon 5

Favorite website to waste time on? Pinterest

Favorite running moment? Crossing the finish line of my first full marathon. I felt on top of the world! I never thought I’d be a marathoner, and all of a sudden I became part of a club!

If you could pick one celebrity to run with, who would it be? Will Ferrell

Want to continue to follow Colleen on her road to Shamrock 2014? You can follow her on Facebook www.facebook.com/livefreeandrun, Twitter www.twitter.com/livefreeandrun and on Instagram, www.instagram.com/livefreeandrun

Image

GOOD LUCK COLLEEN!

If you are participating in one of the Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, 1/2 Marathon, 8k Races  this year and are interested in being spotlighted, please email breathofsunshineblog@gmail.com

Published by Kristy

Storyteller. Copywriter. Connector. Documenting the inhales and exhales of daily life.

Leave a comment