Soup-er Sunday: Shamrock Soup

Disclaimer: I’m a sucker for a theme. When I typed “shamrock soup” in the search bar on Pinterest, this was the first soup that popped up. It’s up for debate how “shamrocky” it actually is.

Since I have the Shamrock half-marathon on my brain, I thought a shamrock soup would be a fun kick off into the week. I may have been overly excited when I saw the name of this soup on Catholic Cuisine. It’s a milk based soup, something I would not normally cook. As the soup was being prepared, I was skeptical (and wishing Chick-fil-a was open as a back up plan!). To make it more of a meal, I added potatoes and beans to recipe.

Shamrock Soup

Ingredients:

4 TBS butter
1/2 onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, diced
4 TBS flour
2 cups whole milk
4 cups whole milk
3-4 cups chopped broccoli
1 tsp salt
1/8-1/4 black pepper
shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
**2 cups diced potatoes, we used fingerling potatoes
**1 can of kidney beans

Directions:

In a large pot melt butter on medium heat. Sautee onions and celery until tender. Add the flour, whisking until combined. Add the 2 cups of milk and turn the heat to high. Whisk constantly until mixture becomes thick and bubbly. Reduce heat and add the remaining 4 cups of milk. Add the broccoli, potatoes, beans, salt, and pepper. Turn up the heat to medium high/high and bring to a gentle simmer, whisking on occasion so as to not scald the bottom of the pan and to prevent over boiling. Turn to low and let simmer for about 10 minutes or until broccoli is tender.

20140309-210138.jpg

When the soup was done, it was pretty bland. Christian came to the rescue and added some of our favorite spices from the cabinet. A little cheese on top and some corn bread on the side and dinner was saved. It still wasn’t one of my favorites though and had too much dairy for my liking.

This shamrock soup did not bring good luck to our kitchen. I’d rather save my luck for race day next weekend anyways!

20140309-210501.jpg

Leave a Reply

