Soup-er Sunday: Gnocchi Chicken Minestrone

disclaimer: I made this Friday night, and plan on enjoying the leftovers tonight.

If there is one thing I am learning about soup, it is that it is hard to mess up. Add some veggies, add some chicken, and its almost always good. When I found this recipe, I was intrigued. I did some modifying to meet my food preferences, and found another soup favorite for my family.

Chet wasn’t interested in it, but Cole and Christian have voted it to be their new favorite.

Gnocchi Chicken Minestrone

1 1/4 chicken tenderloins (I used chicken breasts)

3/4 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp olive oil (I used coconut oil)

green, red, and yellow peppers, chopped

zucchini, chopped

1 cup Portobello mushrooms, chopped (I omitted)

1/3 cup chopped red onion (I used yellow)

1/3 cup chopped prosciutto (I omitted)

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 cans chicken broth

1 can Italian diced tomatoes

3/4 cup kidney beans (I used 1 can)

1/2 cup frozen peas

3 tbsp tomato paste (I used 1 small can)

1 package potato gnocchi, 16 ozs

shredded Asiago

chopped fresh basil

1. Sprinkle chicken with oregano, salt, and pepper. In dutch oven cook chicken in oil (I pre cooked in slow cooker and shredded)

2. Cook veggies

3. Add prosciutto, cook for one minute

4. Add broth, tomatoes, beans, peas, tomato paste, and chicken. Cook for 20 mins

5. Cook gnocchi separately and add to soup

6. Top with cheese and basil

Enjoy!

20140302-161614.jpg

One thought on “Soup-er Sunday: Gnocchi Chicken Minestrone

Leave a Reply

