Shamrock Spotlight: Christine Keenan

Image

 

We are so excited to be bringing you the “Shamrock Spotlight Series” on our blogs! The Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, 1/2 Marathon, 8k Races bring thousands of runners, of all ages, abilities and locations, to the Virginia Beach oceanfront every year! As J&A Racing Live Love Run Ambassadors, we decided we wanted to celebrate these races, J&A Racing, and our community by doing a series that highlights participants, both local and out of town, on their journey to this years’ races.

We were incredibly fortunate to get the response we did when asking for volunteers to be spotlighted, and are grateful for the opportunity to share their stories with you!

Kristy and Lesleyanne

 

SHAMROCK SPOTLIGHT SERIES: CHRISTINE KEENAN

werundisney

 

Age: 32

Current City: Chesapeake, Virginia

Training for the Shamrock Half Marathon

“I’ve been running for about 3 years and have grown to love the J&A races.  They are a world class race series in our backyard and Shamrock is definitely the highlight.  I ran the Shamrock Anthem Half last year and had a phenomenal time!  I ran into Bart Yasso at about mile 4 and chatted with him for a bit.  Where else does that happen at a local race?  I’m back this year for a big PR attempt – fingers crossed!”

Why are you running Shamrock? It’s my favorite local half marathon, see some running friends (both local and otherwise) and hopefully PR!

When did you start running? I started running in the fall of 2010 to train for the Princess Half Marathon in February 2011 as a bucket list item before I turned 30.  I haven’t looked back since.

How many races have you done and what’s your favorite? 34 races.  Very tough to pick a favorite.  Probably the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon because it was my first 26.2 and I had a phenomenally awesome experience.  

Where do you prefer to run? My favorite local spots are the North End of Virginia Beach and the Noland Trail in Newport News.

What’s the longest distance you’ve run? 26.2 miles

What is the one thing you DON’T like about running? Training for a marathon is incredibly time-consuming and stole a little joy from my social life!

Favorite post-run indulgence? Bacon cheeseburger and a large Diet Coke or cold beer

Favorite running shoe? New Balance 860

Favorite song to run to? Punching in a Dream by the Naked and Famous – it’s my starting line song for every race

Favorite website to waste time on? Twitter

Favorite running moment? Crossing the finish line at the Dopey Challenge (4 races, 48.6 miles in 4 days in Walt Disney World) with my Mom in January to celebrate her 60th Birthday.  We both PR’ed the marathon on Sunday after running a 5k, 10k and half marathon on the preceding days.

If you could pick one celebrity to run with, who would it be? Since I’ve already run with Bart Yasso, probably Summer Sanders.  She was my idol when I was a young swimmer and now is a phenomenal runner.

1535603_610895788982533_618514181_n

 

GOOD LUCK CHRISTINE!

You can follow Christine on her blog, We Run Disney, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

2 thoughts on “Shamrock Spotlight: Christine Keenan

    1. Hollie – it was seriously the best ever! I was trucking along and noticed him running with a young girl. Turns out he made a deal with a girl from PA to run with her as soon as she was old enough. This was her first half. I got to chat with them for a half mile or so. I was totally star struck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

