Shamrock Spotlight: Sue Tate

 

Image

We are so excited to be bringing you the “Shamrock Spotlight Series” on our blogs! The Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, 1/2 Marathon, 8k Races bring thousands of runners, of all ages, abilities and locations, to the Virginia Beach oceanfront every year! As J&A Racing Live Love Run Ambassadors, we decided we wanted to celebrate these races, J&A Racing, and our community by doing a series that highlights participants, both local and out of town, on their journey to this years’ races.

We were incredibly fortunate to get the response we did when asking for volunteers to be spotlighted, and are grateful for the opportunity to share their stories with you!

Kristy and Lesleyanne

SHAMROCK SPOTLIGHT SERIES: SUE TATE

Image
Name  Sue Tate
Age. 38
Current City. Alexandria, VA

Blog: This Mama Runs for Cupcakes

I am a 37 year old mama to two beautiful boys, a Pediatric ICU nurse and Air Force veteran.  My passion is running and trying to be a good role model to teach my boys the importance of healthy living!

Why you are running a Shamrock race in 2014? I’ll be honest,I’m running because it was my backup race for not getting in the NYC 1/2 lottery. I had to choose between Rock N Roll USA and Shamrock. I live close to DC and have run so many races there I wanted a change of scenery and I have never been to Virginia Beach!! This sounded like a great excuse to go down there!

When did you start running? I started running in college as a way to stay in shape and avoid gaining the Freshman 15!

How many races have you done and what’s your favorite?  I have done about 20 races but probably more. Before I became passionate about running I didn’t really keep track and know I ran a bunch of 5K’s.  My favorite by far was the Marine Corp Marathon!

Where do you prefer to run? I prefer to run outside on a trail!

What’s the longest distance you’ve run? 26.2 miles!

Image

What is the one thing you DON’T like about running? Honestly, there is NOTHING I don’t like about running, unless maybe the foam rolling afterwards :)

Favorite post-run indulgence? I love a great omelet immediately after a run, but a real indulgence would be a cupcake or ice-cream. I have a bit of a sweet tooth.

Favorite running shoe? Right now it’s my Saucony Cortana 3′s

Favorite song to run to?  Pretender by the Foo Fighters

Favorite website to waste time on? Facebook

Favorite running moment? Crossing the finish line of my very first marathon.  I was in so much pain but I couldn’t feel it because of the emotions of finally accomplishing my goal!

If you could pick one celebrity to run with, who would it be? Ryan Reynolds

Image

Want to continue to follow Sue on her road to Shamrock 2014? You can follow her on Facebook
www.facebook.com/thismamarunsforcupcakes, Twitter www.twitter.com/suzy399, Pinterest www.pinterest.com/suzy399 and Bloglovin
www.bloglovin.com/suzy399

GOOD LUCK SUE!

If you are participating in one of the Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, 1/2 Marathon, 8k Races this year and are interested in being spotlighted, please email breathofsunshineblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

