Live, Love, Run

By the time August rolls around, I’ve had it with summer running. My motivation to run has been slowly disappearing. I’m sleeping through my alarm clock. I’m dreading the early morning weekend run. Technically speaking, I’m 93 days away from the Richmond Marathon, yet I don’t have the marathon buzz just yet. Blame it on the injury or the absent training plan (although I really do have one), or the weather. My running lows are currently out weighing my running highs.

Or at least that was my story until last night…

Not too long ago, I learned that I had been selected by my favorite race organization to be a member of their Live, Love, Run Team. J&A Racing hosts five local races including the Shamrock Marathon. I applied to be on this team because I truly believe they are the best in the business. No one celebrates running, runners, family, and community quite like J&A Racing. Last night they organized a local 3.5 mile fun run. It included a gorgeous run along the Lynnhaven Bay and connected to a beach run along the Chesapeake Bay. (Living in a town full of water is amazing!) After the run, we celebrated with food, italian ice, and beer. The party wouldn’t be complete without live music too. All of this was free. You just had to bring a donation for For Kids. They were collecting school supplies for kids in the local community who would otherwise go back to school empty-handed.

With a new backpack and a bag full of paper, pencils, and crayons, my entire family (including my mom and dad) headed to the event. While my family walked, I got to run with two friends I haven’t seen since the Crawling Crab (also organized by J&A Racing) last October. I saw an endless stream of familiar faces – a childhood friend and her husband, a long time friend of my sister, fellow Live, Love, Run Team members and blogging friends (The Beachy Runner and The Fit Petite), and friends of my husband. The entire evening (and maybe the two beers) left me feeling giddy not only about running, but also about the adventures I’m about to tackle with J&A Racing. The running community in Virginia Beach is amazing. 

View of the Lynnhaven Bay (taken by The Beachy Runner)
View of the Lynnhaven Bay (taken by The Beachy Runner)

My hip is feeling stronger every day. I feel honored to be working with J&A Racing. And my next marathon is 93 days away!

The cherry on top: this morning I woke up to Fall weather! Low humidity. High of 75. My air conditioner is off, my windows are open, and I have a date with my running coach tonight!

Beach Running
Beach Running

And what about that training plan….I’ve updated my training page. You can read about it here. I’ve also given my blog a facelift. I hope you like it! I’ll be making lots of changes over the next few weeks.

 

One thought on “Live, Love, Run

  1. Congrats on being selected for the Live, Love, Run team! They could not have chosen a better candidate 🙂
    Looking forward to following along!
    PS. The blog looks great!

Leave a Reply

