Zzzzzzzz

When life finally grows quiet, it is easy to hear all the things my body has been yelling at me for the past few months. My brain isn’t obsessing about running or increasing mileage each weekend. Slowly we are getting our house back in order. Life is settling, and I’m really enjoying the slow pace. There is just one exception. I’m tired. I’m really tired. I’m so tired, I’m having a hard time functioning.

I had several reasons to justify how tired I’ve become.

  • Chet is now a good sleeper. After 13 months of not sleeping, I figured my body was finally learning how to sleep again. It couldn’t get enough to make up for the 2-3 hour stretches of sleep I got each night for over a year.
  • Chet has weaned himself to only nursing at night time. My hormones are adjusting.
  • I was tapering for the marathon. My body was healing after beating it up for five months.
  • I switched to four ten-hour work days at work so I could have Fridays off with Chet. Starting work before the sun comes up has taken an adjustment period.
  • I had the flu and have been fighting a cold/cough/sinus crap for weeks.

I drank more water, I focused on my diet, and I expected it to get better. It didn’t. By mile 16 in my marathon, I felt so sleepy. I wanted a nap. The marathon came and went. I was still tired.

  • My body was adjusting to the marathon.
  • I had my period.
  • My sugar intake is ridiculously out of control with birthday cake/Easter candy haunting me in our house.

This Sunday I went out for a run. I had planned on running 8 miles with my dog on the trails. On the way there, I really felt like I needed a nap. By mile 1, I was exhausted. It was all I could think about the whole run. I ditched all plans for the run that day. Alex and I casually ran the route I had planned. I cut it short just shy of 7 miles. We walked and played along the beach. I let him do more exploring and less running.

Happy Dog
Happy Dog

I’ve run out of excuses for my exhaustion. I wasn’t even this tired when I was pregnant or not sleeping when Chet was a baby. Something is just off. I should probably go to the doctor, but I feel pretty confident my iron levels are off. I’ve always been borderline anemic. It seems to be a trend among distance runners too.

Today I’m going to start taking an iron supplement. I’ve also been neglecting my yoga mat. Tonight, no matter how tired I am, I will find time for a gentle restorative yoga practice.  If I don’t notice an improvement by next week, I promise to go to the doctor for blood work. Until then you can finding my yawning at my desk, sleeping at the dinner table, and doing a version of run-napping.

I need to wake-up soon! We have a fun family trip planned for DC this weekend, and I’m (casually) running the Cherry Blossom 10-miler!

My new favorite running partner
My new favorite running partner

For you funny folks out there (yes Amy! you!), I am not pregnant! We are not trying to get pregnant.

3 thoughts on “Zzzzzzzz

  1. You deserve a nap! Go to bed early! Take a nap. Give yourself a break :o) I, too, am exhausted (still post surgery) and hope to restore my energy levels again and I hope that running will help. I am lacing my sneakers up tomorrow and I am excited! I agree that some blood work should help if it doesn’t get better but it is probably all the reasons you listed above. Now, go to bed early tonight :o)

  2. I believe your body is letting you know that it is time to take a step back. You have accomplished a great deal, especially during the difficult times that were present during your training. Listen closely to your body’s language…rest. m.

  3. You are smart to listen to your body. Be patient with yourself. All of the emotions from the last several months are surely bubbling to the surface more now that you have shifted your focus.
    I hope the iron helps!

Leave a Reply

