Goodbye Survival Mode

Running a marathon and settling back into life after a marathon has allowed me to really focus on where I want to go with my life. Yes. It is just running, but if you run, you probably already understand that is so much more than covering miles with running shoes on your feet.

A high school friend, James, commented on my marathon recap the other day.

congrats! having friends and family out on the course is priceless. finishing a race (or anything for that matter) and not being content with your performance/results isn’t always a bad thing. That’s when you learn the most…. about everything.

Reading his comment brought my perspective back to where it needed to be. Was I disappointed in the quality of my run? Yes. Was I disappointed in my marathon? No. There is a huge difference for me. The fact that I finally ran a marathon is starting to sink in as each day passes. I’m jumping for joy over my accomplishment. I’m also truly grateful for the lessons I’m learning from my less than stellar performance. My run, that race, those 26.2 miles showed me what direction I want to take with so many aspects of my life. I do not want to live my life (or another race) on cruise control.

Cheering on Cole at his mile race this weekend
Cheering on Cole at his mile race this weekend

In one week, I will be celebrating my 33rd birthday. Surprise! Until about a week ago, I thought I was turning 34! I get a whole year back.

My marathon came at the perfect time. It gave me a foundation and a direction for my 33rd year. I’ve strayed away from setting goals since giving birth to Chet. I was in survival mode the first year of his life. I was trying to survive on very few hours of sleep for over a year. I was training for a marathon. I was struggling with my dual role of working mama. I was trying to survive the loss of my aunt and father-in-law. I ran my marathon in survival mode too. It was a true reflection of where I was at during this phase of my life.

I survived this past year. I survived my marathon. On to the next chapter. To prevent getting stuck here in cruise control (because honestly just surviving can be very comforting at times), I’ve revamped my goals for myself. I’m refocusing on progress and growth. I’m taking the spring to fine tune my running and fine tune my living. Every aspect of my life needs some TLC right now before I dive into training for my next marathon. The new goals I’ve set for myself will shed the extra layers I’ve been carrying around with me.

Read my new goals here.

My survival marathon was a gift. I don’t want to waste it. Cheers to a wonderful running experience. Cheers to turning 33 instead of 34. Cheers to the road ahead of me.

Now spring weather needs to show up. It’s snowing outside as I write this post.

4 thoughts on “Goodbye Survival Mode

  1. Congratulations!
    It’s funny that you forgot your age. You’re not alone, I stopped counting when I turned 25. When people ask me how old I am, I can’t answer right away coz I need to count. LOL.

    Cheers!

    * oh yes, spring weather please. I can’t wait to run outside in shorts. 🙂

    1. so glad I’m not alone. I was born in 80 so it normally easy to do the math. I’m not sure how I got confused. haha!

      I want shorts and a tank top too!!!!

  2. The other day I actually had to count because I forgot my age. I remember when I couldn’t wait to get older (mostly up until I turned 21 :)) and now I just don’t even pay attention to the number. It is what it is, and I truly believe the more you focus on it and let it define you, the older it actually makes your body.

    I’m obsessed with this photo of your family! So beautiful and happy. Are all of you making the trip up here next month? Also, I love your list of goals. I think that once I survive grad school and we get settled in California, I’m going to try to make goals like this, too.

    1. I still can’t believe you are moving to california.

      The whole family is making the trip in a few weeks. You get to meet us all! I should make Cole pack his panda stuffed animal just for you.

Leave a Reply

