Run Strong

oh the week before a race……..

I’m excited. Anxious. Impatient. Optimistic. Freaking out (only a little). Constantly checking weather reports (like I can control it). Can’t stop talking about it.

Running is about the only thing my brain can focus on this week.

It feels like it has been a long time since I’ve been here. I’ve run races, sure. But I haven’t fully trained on a body that was 100% ready in almost two years. I don’t think I have been this diligent, this committed, this dedicated to following a training plan since I ran my first half marathon in the spring of 2010 (if you don’t count last summer because I could never fully train since I had a permanent training partner growing in my belly).

I am ready to set my alarm clock for an hour when most bars close for the night. I’m ready to put on my running shoes. I’m ready to push myself. I’m ready to see how my race unfolds on Sunday. And because I’ve done the work, because I’ve worked hard, because I’ve pushed my body through an awful summer in Virginia, I’m hoping race day is good to me.

I want my race day high.

The oceanfront is ready for the weekend

All week I’ve been trying to figure out my plan for race day (so I can ditch it as soon as I cross the start line). I want a PR. I really want a run in the 2:teens. I really really want a sub 2:15 for this race. But my logical brain knows that the time on the clock will be the outcome of my race and I can’t run my race for a time. I have to run it by feel.

So what is my plan? Find the 2:15 pace group in the beginning. Run the first 3 miles with the group to test out my legs (and the weather) that morning. From there, I will figure it out. Because running is more of an emotional journey for me than a physical one, I’ll run whatever my heart is telling me to run that day. I think I will know by mile 3 if I have more or less in me on that day. I’m counting on more. Ideally, I’d love to stay with the group up until mile 10. At that point, I’d love keep the group behind me.

Only thing missing is the runners

Race Day Mantra: RUN STRONG.

Regardless of time, I want to finish feeling strong. I want to run every single mile feeling strong. I am healthy. I am strong. and I’m running this race for me. Race day is a celebration of hard work and dedication (for me). It’s a time to honor my body. It’s a time to test myself and prove to myself what I can do.

I am so ready to run on Sunday. I’m so ready to dig deep (Love you Husband!). I’m ready for all the emotions that I’m flooded with on every single race. I’m ready for my 13.1 mile journey to begin. Bring on Race Day!

Race Day Facts:

Race Day: Sunday, September 2nd

Start Time: 7am

14,000 runners

Sundays Forecast:  High – 86/ Low – 74.  Isolated rain showers. 40% chance of rain.

Bib #10521

Corral #10

And if you really want to stalk me (and because I’m not paying to track my bib #), I’m turning my endomondo on at some point when I’m in the corral to start. Feel free to friend me. It’s never 100% accurate, but it will give you a good idea of where I’m at in the race.

I’m so ready to run

And if you are really bored……..go read my race recap from last year! How in the world did I do that 26 weeks pregnant!

3 thoughts on “Run Strong

Leave a Reply

