Big Changes for Baby Chet

Exactly one month ago, I had a feeling it was time to transition Chet out of his Mose’s basket into………well, into what? Did I want to move his pack-n-play into our room so he could continue to sleep in our room? Did I want to put him in his crib? Was I ready for him to be in his own room? How in the world was I going to get my itty bitty (way too big for his basket) baby to sleep in his wide open crib? I thought about it. I googled it. I asked friends for advice. And I did nothing.

Yes. He always sleeps with his face covered.

Chet started happily sleeping in his basket again. He started waking up once a night. I was terrified to make a change. I ignored the fact that the recommended age limit on the Mose’s basket is three months because it also has a weight limit of 20 lbs. And then I justified Chet staying in his basket until we went to the Great Wolf Lodge this weekend. I wanted him to sleep while we were at the hotel so I wouldn’t be exhausted while trying to play with Cole.

This past week, Chet started showing signs that he was ready for a new sleeping scenario again. He kept arching his back and trying to roll over to his side while he was in his basket. While he was sleeping, he would pull his knees into his chest and thump them back down. Over and over again. It woke me up just a few times! It woke him up a few times too. My baby who had fallen into a comfortable sleep pattern of only waking up once a night started waking up 2 or 3 times a night. I kept my fingers crossed that I could keep him comfortable in his basket until our weekend getaway.

Friday night at Great Wolf Lodge finally arrived. While Christian ran all over the hotel with both boys playing Magiquest for hours, I desperately tried to get Chet to sleep. He wanted nothing to do with is Mose’s basket. I rocked him. I paced the room with him. I wrapped him in a blanket. He didn’t want to sleep. In order to give my back a break, I laid him down on the bed. Within seconds, he passed out. Hello Mom. I’m ready for my crib.

Too cute not to share twice.

We got home from our getaway on Saturday evening. As bedtime approached, I knew it was time to make the switch. Change can be scary (for me at least). I didn’t want to go back nights of not sleeping. I was nervous about having my baby in another room. I dreaded the idea of having to walk down the hallway in the middle of the night to feed him. I was dragging my feet.

My first attempt to put him to bed resulted in a dirty diaper. Thirty minutes later, I tried again. After three cycles of music on his songhorse, Chet was sound asleep in his crib. I held my breath and waited for him to get restless. I anticipated that he would wake up soon after he fell asleep. He didn’t. As Christian and I went to bed, I hoped he wouldn’t wake up right after I feel asleep. He didn’t. I kept waking up, but I never heard my baby cry. I kept checking the baby monitor, and all I saw was a sleeping baby. Chet didn’t make a noise until 5:30am this morning. BEST NIGHT OF SLEEP since he was born. After he nursed, he went back to bed and slept until 8:45.

Today he napped in his crib.

And tonight he fell asleep in his crib after one cycle on his songhorse. I don’t know what tonight will bring, but I do know that I can finally return the Mose’s basket to my sister. We have transitioned to sleeping in the crib. What a fun way to kick off his fourth month of life.

(4 month photos coming soon!)

3 thoughts on “Big Changes for Baby Chet

  1. Yay! Change is never easy, but it seems that’s that what parenting is all about. I’m glad I read your post today because I was just doing some research on swaddling and sleeping. We still swaddle Charlotte at night and for naps, but I’m trying to get her weaned off to see how it goes. I’m terrified of her waking up all night, but maybe that’s why she’s been so cranky lately!

    1. Oh good luck. Sleep changes are hard to tackle. I know the thought of going back to sleepless nights scared the crap out of me πŸ™‚ So far so good for us. Chet is on night 3 of sleeping in his crib and all his naps have moved to his crib too! Huge accomplishment for us.

Leave a Reply

