I survived

My favorite time after work

Somehow I did it. I survived my first week as a working mama. Some days were easier than I expected. Other days were a lot harder than I expected. Tuesday was the hardest day all week. Chet woke up to feed at 6am, my current wake up time, and he wanted to do nothing but snuggle. It broke my heart in two to put him back in his Moses basket so I could take a shower before work.

I expected the heartache. I expected to cry on my way to work. What I didn’t expect was a surprise result from returning to work. My returning to work has defined our family of 4. Each of our roles in the family has become less blurry and more defined. Knowing that things would change as soon as I returned to work, I think we were all in “get by” mode. The things that will define our schedule for the a lengthy amount of time are now in place. Although I would much rather be at home with my baby, it is nice to have the anticipation of change behind me.

My new daily routine looks something like this:

  • 6am wake up, shower, feed baby, pump
  • Wake up Cole, get him ready for school, and drop him off at school on my way to work
  • Work
  • Arrive home by 4:30pm, feed baby, snuggle baby
  • Homework, baseball practice, dinner, baths, and bedtime routines all get juggled between 5pm and 8pm.
  • Crash on couch and if I’m lucky stay awake until 10 (although this week I’ve been asleep before 9 most nights).

While I feel like Christian and I have a good handle on all the day-to-day work and family tasks, the one thing missing is exercise. I need to find an hour in my day to run or practice yoga. There are some things I’m not willing or not able to comprise in our daily routine. Work is work. I can’t make that go away. I am also not willing to give up any of my mama and Chet and mama and Cole time. After work is all about family time. I wouldn’t be happy any other way.

Both of my sweet boys

I have two options: work out after 8pm bedtimes or work out prior to my 6am wake up time.  Since I feel like I hit a wall as soon as both boys are asleep, I know I will rarely find the motivation to work out at night. It looks like my wake up time is going to have to get pushed up to 5am if I’m ever going to run faster than 11 minute miles, if I’m ever going to touch my toes again, if I’m ever going to fit into any of the clothes in my closet, and if I want to keep my mental sanity.

I might have to give 5am a chance starting next week. It wouldn’t seem so early if Chet would just start sleeping. He was doing pretty good prior to going back to work, but has definitely taken a step backwards this week (I’ve read it’s normal for a baby to wake up more when mom returns to work. Baby is trying to makeup for lost time with mama during the day). Last night he went to bed at 8 and then woke up to eat at 12:30, 3:00, and 5:30.

A surprise hello from Chet while I was working (thank goodness for text messages and camera phones)
One thought on “I survived

  1. Everything will get easier with time. Chet will get bigger and be more independant and you’ll all get into a routine where it just works out. I thought getting out of the house with a 3 year old and a 3 months old would be impossible at 6:50 am, but I did it it and now it just works for us. Good luck squeezing in your runs. I know they’ll be great but 5 am is hard! (I get up at 5:30 but 5 is even harder!)

    GOOD LUCK

Leave a Reply

