Bringing back Soup-er Sunday

After taking last Sunday off from all domestic duties – I’m pregnant. I can definitely use it as an excuse to do nothing for a day. – I knew I wanted to make something yummy this weekend. Christian has been on an even healthier than normal kick lately, so I wanted to avoid all the creamy soups. Thanks to Nicole’s pin on pinterest, I decided to make a Hearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash and Quinoa.

The recipe is from the Cookin Canuck blog. I will definitely be visiting this blog for some more recipes.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lb. butternut squash, peeled, seeded & chopped into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 can (14 oz) petite diced tomatoes
  • 2/3 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 3/4 cup pitted and quartered kalamata olives
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley

Instructions

  1. Steam the butternut squash until barely tender, about 10 minutes. Remove half of the squash pieces and set aside.
  2. Steam the remaining squash until very tender, an additional 4 to 6 minutes. Mash this squash with the back of a fork. Set aside.
  3. In a large saucepan set over medium-high heat, bring the chicken broth to a simmer.
  4. Add chicken thighs, cover, and cook until chicken is cooked through, about 15 minutes.
  5. Transfer the chicken thighs to a plate and allow to cool. Pour broth into a medium-sized bowl.
  6. Return the saucepan to the stovetop and lower heat to medium. Add olive oil.
  7. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is starting to turn brown, 8 to 10 minutes.
  8. Add minced garlic and oregano. Cook, stirring, for 1 additional minute.
  9. To the saucepan, add tomatoes, butternut squash pieces, mashed butternut squash. Stir to combine.
  10. Stir in reserved chicken broth and quinoa. Bring to a simmer, cover and cook until the quinoa turns translucent, about 15 minutes.
  11. Shred the chicken with your fingers or a fork.
  12. Stir the chicken, olives and pepper into the stew and simmer, uncovered, to heat, about 5 minutes.
  13. Stir in parsley and serve.

I made few modifications to the recipe and the instructions above to suit my taste buds and preferences.

First, I cooked chicken breast instead of chicken thighs. I cooked my chicken in chicken broth in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. It makes the perfect shredded chicken (I’ve done this with all my soups so far).  This allowed me to skip down to step #6 in the instructions.

I also used black beans instead of olives only because I’m not an olive fan.

Even Cole loved this soup!!!!

The soup was a hit in our house! You know it is good when my 7 year old says “Mmmmmmmm” in a loud exaggerated tone after he tries it! (The sad photo from my iphone doesn’t do it justice).

Pregnant Mom confession #1: Today might be the first time I feel like I “over did it”.  We are in the process of organizing our house for Chet. When we emptied out his bedroom, it resulted in our front room turning into a storage room. This room has been driving me nuts since it’s the first thing you see when you walk into the house. I’ll fill in you all in on the details of the makeover this room is undergoing this week. In order to make this room functional, I probably moved one too many pieces of furniture, bent over to pick up something one too many times, and vacuumed a little too much. I am definitely uncomfortable tonight. Christian has grounded me to the couch and said I can’t do anything else until tomorrow.

Pregnant Mom confession #2: I had a HUGE craving for pizza today, so I indulged in Pizza and Soup tonight!

Although I’m exhausted, I really do enjoy making soups……and I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am about the progress in our front room! Next Sunday I promise to do a little bit less.

7 thoughts on “Bringing back Soup-er Sunday

  1. So how hard/easy/time consuming was the soup after step # 6 then? Not had luck cooking with quinoa yet….but thought it looked tasty! Def addicted to pinterest now that I can’t figure out facebook.

    1. SUPER EASY! The hardest part was chopping up the onion. It probably took me a total of 40 minutes to make everything once the chicken was done in the slow cooker (but that is at my slow pregnant pace). I honestly only sauteed the veggies, add the veggies, chicken and chicken broth to a big pot, added the uncooked quinoa, and let it all simmer. The quinoa is ready once it becomes clear. It took about 20 minutes in my pot.

  2. That sounds sooooo good!!!! I really want to try that! And I like the idea of black beans instead of olives (even though I love olives). Extra protein!

    Take it easy while you can and don’t try to over exert yourself! You deserve a rest!

Leave a Reply

