Creating Ripples in the Blog World

I know the blogging world can be viewed as self-indulgent. It can be viewed as a waste of time. Self-indulgent or not, I love it! I love my blog. I love the connections that I’ve made through blogging. I love the people who come here day after day to read my blog. We all have something positive to offer the world. Why not share it? Why not put ourselves out there so we can maybe, just maybe, have a positive impact on someone else’s life.  Happiness is contagious. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read a blog that has spoken to me on that given day. I’ve found reassurance in other blogs. I’ve found compassion.  I’ve found motivation. I’ve found a tiny little bubble that feels like community to me.

Since Maute Moo has made his/her home in my belly, I’ve been craving kinship with other pregnant runners.  Guess where I found them? The big blog world. (Have you noticed the growing Blog Roll on the right side of my page?)  Below are a few of the pregnant mama runners I’ve come to enjoy over the past few weeks.

On the Road Again – Megan is due in January, and she just PR’ed a 10K this weekend!!! Who does that while they are pregnant? Besides being a runner and a soon to be mommy, she is also an English teacher. No wonder I like her? (I really should have used my teaching licenses!)

The Concrete Runner – Kristen is 28 weeks pregnant and still running strong. She gives me hope that I will be able to complete my half marathon at 24 weeks pregnant! This girl is fast! When I first found her blog, I had to ignore her running times so I wouldn’t become depressed.  Post-baby I can find some speed in my running!

This Runners Trials – Jen is about 2 weeks ahead of me in her pregnancy. Her honesty about running and pregnancy is so refreshing.  She doesn’t sugar coat her truth, but she isn’t offensive. I love her blog. (oh my – if you’ve already read this I had a big old typo here! Sorry Jen!)

21 Days – Jess is the mom to a brand new baby boy and a 2-year-old little girl. She is also a runner. Reading her journey into motherhood of 2 is both inspiring and scary! She’s just been cleared to run again, so it’s a good reality check as to where I will be post-baby.

While I love my pregnant mom blogs right now, I’ve also found a few fun blogs about running (with out a baby in the belly!)

Runner-n-Spice – Jayme is exactly where I want to be post-baby in terms of running. I wish she lived closer (Canada is too far away). I think she would be the perfect running buddy. She just started tackling some interval training that I will be borrowing in 2012.

And then there are the surprise bloggers! I started my blog because I was inspired by JT at Smile with your Heart. If you haven’t been to her blog yet, go there right now. She is an amazing girl.  You can’t help but smile when you read her blog. She’s doing big things and truly lives a life worth living.  I found her blog the day I found out I had stress fracture in my femur. It was exactly what I needed on that day. She saved me from a few tears, and she changed my focus. It was these few sentences that made me quit feeling sorry for myself and made me look forward.

Sometimes when I’m going through a rough patch, I will literally picture myself smiling and waving back at myself with a grin, knowing that life’s going to be alright.  To remember to lose the idea that there is a final destination, because it’s all about the journey that counts.

Instead of crying about my missed marathon, I started thinking about the rest of the year. I had no idea that March 2, 2012 would be so amazing. Who knew I’d have a baby in my arms! Running can be known to decrease fertility in some woman.  Who knows? Maybe I was one of them. The stress fracture caused 12 weeks of no running. During that time, we conceived Maute Moo without even trying!

Although I am truly inspired by JT, I never thought I might have the same effect on anyone else.  Surprise! Thanks to my blog, I’ve received so many emails, so many words of encouragement, and I’ve even sparked the desire in a few friends to blog too.  While all of them have said thank you to me, I feel like I owe them a HUGE THANK YOU! There is nothing better in life than feeling validated. Young or old, we all want to know we have value.  Their emails, their blogs, and all the comments I receive give value to what I am doing.They’ve given me motivation to keep going.

Life of Mo – Morgan was the first to join me in my 40 day goal challenge.  Her ambition is huge, and she has been the driving force behind all of our house projects! I think she likes lists more than I do – and I love them!

Learning to Love Running – Tasha and I went to high school together. Today she sent me an email saying she started her own blog too! YAY! I went straight to her page and feel in love already. Her blog is definitely going to be one to keep an eye on.  She is also tackling a 40 day goal challenge and is also attempting to falling in love with running.  Tasha – it will always be a love/hate relationship, but it definitely gives more than it takes!

So for those of you who think blogging is self-indulgent and a waste of time, I think we will all stand up and argue against it. Blogging creates these wonderful ripples across our world that spreads positive energy and happiness to those who are lucky enough to be caught in the path.

Please share your favorite blogs? Any must adds to my list?

16 thoughts on “Creating Ripples in the Blog World

      1. AW… yay is right! Thanks Meg for checking Kristy out… she is great- Thanks to both of you for all the love and support. (Kristy, Meg is one of my “selected” friends that got my “soft opening” e-mail. 🙂

  1. Although your world is very different from mine I enjoy your blog immensely.
    The happiness and positiveness that is there is contagious and inspiring.
    Lucky Cole and Maute Moo to have you.
    Thanks for being a ray of light in this world.
    Violet

    1. Thank you so much Violet! One lesson I’ve learned in the 31 years of my short life is that if you chose positivity over and over again, it becomes a way of life.

  2. Thanks for the shoutout today! I agree with you… love the blogging community and the friendships (even if they are on the Internet!) made here. It’s so nice to read about other runners and their hardships and triumphs, especially when pregnant!

    You’ve given me a whole slew of new blogs to check out. Here’s another one for you: The Fitnessista (fitnessista.com). She’s not a runner, but she is pregnant (I believe also due in January). She’s also a super adorable fashionista, cook, and aerobics instructor. Lots of goodness on her blog!

    1. Love her blog too! My blog list is growing – oh dear! And she is way too cute. She is definitely having a boy – her skin is amazing. I’m convinced I’m having a girl. I’m going through puberty again. haha!

  3. YOU made my day! Seriously! 🙂 Thank you for your kind words.

    I loved this post, and feel the same way about the blogging community – when I first started I didn’t know if it was just a phase; it’s definitely not just a phase!

    1. I’m officially hooked too. I find myself creating blog posts in my head all day long. If only I could send them to my computer through the airwaves!

  4. Wow, I’m blushing! Thanks so much for the shout out! I love your blog also – it makes me feel so much better about my running that there are other crazy pregnant runners out there! And you are a complete STUD for training for a half marathon during pregnancy!

    1. Thanks! I’m definitely hoping to run the 1/2 in September. Fingers Crossed. I haven’t registered yet though. I’m afraid once I do, something bad will happen. I need to do it soon though before it sells out!

Leave a Reply

