One Amazing Year

May 1, 2010

Happy Anniversary to my husband Christian!!!! Since my blog is new, there is no better day than today to tell you about our love story.

In January 2008, Cole and I made the journey from Nashville, Tennessee back to Virginia Beach, Virginia.  After a few years of living as a single mom in Nashville, I had finally reached my breaking point.  I was sick all the time.  My stress levels were through the roof.  My life was stuck in neutral.  It was a scary decision to give up my comfort zone and to move Cole away from his home, but I needed a support system.  My home was calling my name. As we moved home, I had very few things on my mind.  I was looking forward to embracing single life. I was going to be single, and I was looking forward to dating no one. I was going to find a Masters program, and I was going to get Cole and myself settled into a happy life routine.

Two weeks after I moved home, I posted a comment on Jimmy’s, my sister’s ex-boyfriend, myspace page (Yes! Myspace!).  He and his wife just got back from an amazing trip in Oregon.  I asked him if he had any friends who wanted to take me to Oregon.  And that is when Christian made his way into my life.  He also posted on Jimmy’s myspace page. His response – Hi Kristy. Want to go to Oregon?  He soon followed up the comment with a message to assure me that he wasn’t a creepo.  We emailed back and forth for a few days.  I finally agreed to meet him on Sunday.

Friday afternoon came around, and I received an email from Christian that made my heart skip a beat or two.  He told me that Sunday was too far away and would love to meet me tonight.  GASP! What girl doesn’t want to hear that?  We meet that evening and haven’t left each others side since.  So much for enjoying being single!

Nearly two and a half years later, Christian and I said “I do.”  I wouldn’t change anything about our wedding.  We got married on the beach. We were currently living one block away from the ocean, so we got married at the end of our street.  Our dear friend Justin preformed the ceremony that Christian and I wrote together.  We had one thing in mind when we got married.  We wanted it feel like a simple gathering of friends.

My dad and my Cole walking me down the aisle
We Do!

My lifelong friend Nicole read the following passage during our ceremony.  For us, it says it all about our life together.

When you love someone you do not love them all the time, in exactly the same way, from moment to moment. It is an impossibility. It is even a lie to pretend to. And yet this is exactly what most of us demand. We have so little faith in the ebb and flow of life, of love, of relationships. We leap at the flow of the tide and resist in terror its ebb. We are afraid it will never return. We insist on permanency, on duration, on continuity; when the only continuity possible, in life as in love, is in growth, in fluidity – in freedom, in the sense that the dancers are free, barely touching as they pass, but partners in the same pattern. The only real security is not in owning or possessing, not in demanding or expecting, not in hoping, even. Security in a relationship lies neither in looking back to what it was in nostalgia, nor forward to what it might be in dread or anticipation, but living in the present relationship and accepting it as it is now. For relationships, too, must be like islands. One must accept them for what they are here and now, within their limits – islands, surrounded and interrupted by the sea, continually visited by the tides. – Anne Morrow Lindbergh

After the ceremony, we headed down to 23rd street where we had dinner with 65 of our closest friends at our favorite breakfast spot, Doc Taylor’s.  After dinner, a local musician, Jesse Chong entertained our guests.

Doc Taylor's Front Porch
Dinner Menu
Enjoying our new life with friends
Jesse Chong

After our first dance, the evening ended by our departure on a bicycle built for two – and we were having so much fun with our friends we took the party to our favorite local bar.  We continued the celebration with more champagne and lots of laughs.

Our first dance
Just Married

I don’t think the day could have turned out better.  It was about Christian and I becoming husband and wife. It was about Christian, Cole and I becoming a family.  We were surrounded by only the friends and family who have supported our relationship. It was simple and relaxed, and the food was amazing. We might have to do it all over again in ten years to renew our vows!

Our wedding Party - minus the kids
The guys - with the groomsmen gifts
The girls
The flowergirls
My little man
This makes my heart happy
The rings and seaglass (the inspiration for our wedding)
Ceremony Music
May Poles for our May Day Wedding
Wedding Favors
Our cake - oh so yummy

I can’t wait to enjoy this life for at least 50 more years!

I love you husband!

(I couldn’t help but put all the photos up – our wonderful photographer, Deanna Casey, capture all the emotion of the day!)

9 thoughts on “One Amazing Year

  1. Beautiful! My fiance and I have been engaged for years and not married. A lot of the reason is b/c we want a small gathering and we are not good at planning. Congrats to you guys and good luck for the future. I like the beach theme. We were talking about that the other day.
    Suzanne Williams

    1. Thank you Suzanne! I don’t think either one of us expected it to happen as quickly as it did, but once we started planning everything feel into place. It really was(mostly) stress-free!

Leave a Reply

