What’s in a Name?

Why Breath of Sunshine? Until recently, I was completely unaware of the driving force breath has had on my life.  When I look back on all the details, it is obvious to me now.

Since this is day 2 in my blogging world, all of you know me and you know my life story.  I got married young. I had Cole young. When I left my ex-husband, the only words I could find to explain how I was feeling was “I can’t Breathe.” Not exactly what someone wants to hear when their wife is leaving and they have a 1 year old son, but I honestly felt like I was suffocating and couldn’t find my breath.

Life progressed as it always does, and I constantly found myself in situations where I needed to remind myself to exhale. I was now at a stage in my life that had me holding my breath day and night. The inhales were full and exciting, but there was no balance. I never exhaled.  I didn’t take the time to enjoy the release that goes along with exhaling. I physically had to tell myself out loud to exhale – Stop what I’m doing and allow myself a moment to exhale. At this point in my life, this was not a comfortable place for me. It was too relaxed, to open, to vulnerable.

Fast forward a couple years – along came Christian. During the first month we were dating, he was laying his head in my lap and he said to me, “You breathe wrong.” WHAT? My initial reaction was “How in the world does anyone breathe wrong?” Guess what? I most certainly did breath wrong. Not only has Christian taught me how to physically breathe, he has taught me how to breathe emotionally as well. (Yes! I know! Totally Cheesy! But totally true!).

Breathing feels good!
I love that this is my life!

On a less cheesy note, 3 weeks ago I began a series of yoga sessions called blissology (www.blissology.com). Yoga is one of those things I have always said I need to do more of and commit more of myself to doing it.  Like lots of things, I never did it.  After my running set back, I had no more excuses. I couldn’t/can’t run for 8 -12 weeks, and I need an outlet. I immediately committed myself to doing yoga 6 days a week.  3 weeks into it, I can’t believe I waited so long. Through yoga, I have learned to use my breath to push myself, to stretch a little bit further, to relax deeper, to open up, and to let go….

Cherry Blossom Yoga in Washington, DC

Do yourself a favor! Learn how to Breathe. Your body will feel full of warmth. It truly feels like breathing in sunshine.

10 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Your blog has officially been tabbed on my google bar. I’ve known you through how many years, and roadtrips, and long weekends at the mosley house, and still learning about you. Love the blog. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

